Something of a transition… in the home

I’ve been in the midst of something of an upheaval in my life, on the side opposite the one that got it over a year ago when I lost my job and had to go find a new one.

It was all something that’s actually been brewing for a bit, in part because my apartment, while cluttered, hasn’t been nearly at the point of my parents’ place (and I dread when it’s time for my brother and I to go deal with that house). Every time I see it, I get a little leery of the way my apartment has been.

But it did finally come to a head when I was having a conversation with my good, dear, BFF Mike. He finally summed it up for me. “Lynn, you have two living rooms right now.”

He had a point.

As a bit of background, I’m a video gamer. I always have been, although I had a period of “remission” from sometime in college until six or seven years ago. When I moved into my current home, I got a two bedroom place (the same price I was paying for a one at the time), and gleefully set up the larger room as a gaming and computer space. As my computer situation evolved, the computer eventually moved out of that room, and the futon moved in as soon as it was replaced in the living room with real seating.

So, overall, what I had wound up with was, as Mike noted, two living rooms. One with the good seating in it, the other with all the stuff I’d wind up having guests over for but incredibly bad seating.

So, a few months ago, I finally decided that it was time to rearrange to more suit my lifestyle.

The first thing was to get the gaming stuff into the living room, which was admittedly something of a tight squeeze, as I have a sizable collection of gaming hardware. A television (I had two, silly me, I’m not doing that again), futon, television stand, and hexagonal table all went out the door, mostly to the thrift store. I also finally got a print I’ve had for over ten years framed and on the wall, and I do feel some shame for the fact that it languished in the shipping tube for that long.

With that room cleared, the bedroom stuff was moved into it, and I got the various needlepoint decorations, originally somewhat scattered throughout the apartment, into the space. I’ve made some efforts to ensure that the space only has stuff in it relevant to its intended purposes… and as a result, my bedroom is actually quite feminine for having absolutely no lace and no pink in it. I never knew I could manage that.

And finally, I consigned my books and board games to the smaller of the rooms, making it into a library, along with a comfortable wingback chair.

Now, the process still isn’t finished, although the rooms have been set up. I’m still sorting stuff out and making harder choices as to things that stay versus things that leave. I have a thrift store run slated for tomorrow, a whole box of stuff and two posters I have no place for, but this is not going to be the last thrift store run of the year.

But, like coming to terms with some of my identity, my domicile is finally feeling more like it’s me, and less like I’m just making it do.

About lynnindenver

Lynn is the identity of a tgirl residing in Denver, Colorado, standing member of the local chapter of Tri-Ess, and general social gurl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.