Well, some of the feelings are sure familiar

I feel like there’s a relationship in my life that’s currently on the rocks. I recognize the feelings all too well, having had some of them a few years ago.

I read online that they’ve found that being forced into a breakup from a brand of product you like is like having a romantic breakup. I can honestly say that I’m feeling similar with Apple as I felt with Caradoc. Because, on a certain level, Apple is not the corporate I thought I was ‘in love’ with.

To explain, my regular, drab, five days a week job is as a graphic designer in the printing industry. When I learned some of the skills of the trade, back in the early 90s, Apple had made serious inroads into the industry’s embrace of computer aided design work. We had Aldus Pagemaker, and SuperPaint, and all of it ran on Apple’s Macintosh computers. So, I’ve been dealing with Macintosh computers on one level or another, professionally by need and personally by choice, for a period of twenty years overall. I’ve always been willing to spend my money on Apple’s products. I’ve felt comfortable with the products.

Then, I found out that Apple allowed an app called Peek a Boo Tranny to hit the App Store for iOS devices. I got upset, very upset, to the point that I called their customer line to complain. They have pulled the app from their store.

But… I feel rather a bit like I did when I found out I was the ‘other person’. There is a sense of betrayal like what you might get when you’ve found out your partner has developed a hidden drug habit. There’s a definite sense of “I don’t know you any more” involved here. My trust has been quite broken by the one incident. Honestly, if there wasn’t the whole ‘walled garden’ with their store, I probably would have blown it off, but it is put forward as a walled garden, and there’s definite proof that it, well, really is more like a poorly maintained hedge around the garden.

Right now, I’m contemplating a ‘move out’. I have a Windows XP machine here, that I obstensibly use for the one or two things I canNOT do on my Macintosh Mini, and I’ve already downloaded a few of the programs that I have ‘dual’ licenses for to install them on it and begin moving my day to day stuff over to it. This is probably going to start happening sometime this month. I’d been toying with the idea of buying a used MacBook next year or year after, and now I’m not really sure I’m not going to buy a Windows laptop instead.

A part of me doesn’t want to do that. A part of me wants to give Apple ‘one more chance’. But, given in part what happened the last time I gave someone ‘one more chance’ when my trust was violated… I need to just make the effort to live without for a while, and revisit it once the feelings have had a chance to cool off.

About lynnindenver

Lynn is the identity of a tgirl residing in Denver, Colorado, standing member of the local chapter of Tri-Ess, and general social gurl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Well, some of the feelings are sure familiar

  1. I understand the issues with Apple and how incredibly NOT OKAY that was at all. But at the same time, a company is far far different than a single person. There is a small subsection of the company that’s responsible for the app store… those aren’t the people responsible for designing the technology, designing software, working on functionality, marketing, manufacturing, anything. There are at a minimum thousands of people that work on each thing at Apple, and by the time you count manufacturing, it’s easily millions. And it boils down to boycotting an entire company because some asshole showed disgustingly bad judgment by letting a terrible program through. I’m NOT saying that it’s wrong if you don’t want anything to do with Apple now, but I don’t think that a single person’s massive fuckup really reflects on an entire company quite the way a massive fuckup reflects on a single person.

    • lynnindenver says:

      I do acknowledge that it’s an issue specific to their iOS Device division. Which I will not be buying until they fix the App Store’s issues of having what I now perceive as ‘lip service’ requirements.
      The rest of the stuff, though… it was a kick to the teeth, and I will admit that emotions are tied up into things, and will be for months. I might buy another Apple Macintosh… most of the issue at this point is that my business is no longer in any way ‘guaranteed’ to them, like it was in the past. I’m intending my next computer purchase to be a laptop… which is going to involve a ‘how much am I really getting for the money’ review process this time around.
      And my home systems… the XP box is, at least on paper, more powerful than my little Mini, so I’m at least going to ‘give it a shot’ as the primary machine for a bit. At least, once I take the time to get some of my stuff installed over there.

    • lynnindenver says:

      I do acknowledge that it’s an issue specific to their iOS Device division. Which I will not be buying until they fix the App Store’s issues of having what I now perceive as ‘lip service’ requirements.

      The rest of the stuff, though… it was a kick to the teeth, and I will admit that emotions are tied up into things, and will be for months. I might buy another Apple Macintosh… most of the issue at this point is that my business is no longer in any way ‘guaranteed’ to them, like it was in the past. I’m intending my next computer purchase to be a laptop… which is going to involve a ‘how much am I really getting for the money’ review process this time around.

      And my home systems… the XP box is, at least on paper, more powerful than my little Mini, so I’m at least going to ‘give it a shot’ as the primary machine for a bit. At least, once I take the time to get some of my stuff installed over there.

  2. I understand the issues with Apple and how incredibly NOT OKAY that was at all. But at the same time, a company is far far different than a single person. There is a small subsection of the company that’s responsible for the app store… those aren’t the people responsible for designing the technology, designing software, working on functionality, marketing, manufacturing, anything. There are at a minimum thousands of people that work on each thing at Apple, and by the time you count manufacturing, it’s easily millions. And it boils down to boycotting an entire company because some asshole showed disgustingly bad judgment by letting a terrible program through. I’m NOT saying that it’s wrong if you don’t want anything to do with Apple now, but I don’t think that a single person’s massive fuckup really reflects on an entire company quite the way a massive fuckup reflects on a single person.

Comments are closed.