I love my friends

Well, I’ve been asking my friends about their comfort level regarding me being Lynn around them occasionally. Mike, my really, really, really good friend, that I share most everything with, had this to say about the idea:

“Anyway, last night’s question regarding Lynn. While I think it’s admirable that you would consider the comfort level of your friends in these things, I think the reality is that you are most likely overaccomodating. If I (or [our friends he lists]) feel uncomfortable hanging around with Lynn, who’s problem is it? Hint: Not yours. The fundamental risk with maintaining any relationship (friendships…nodding acquiantance…whatever) is that either you or the other party may upset or disappoint the other. Having encountered that so often lately, I can see how you would prefer to take steps to reduce that risk, but if it is coming at the cost of your own happiness, then there is a problem in my opinion. It’s fair to ask to gauge reaction, but I’d only use it for informational purposes and not let it influence your actions.

If it was a personal safety thing, that’s a different story. But the places we go these days I wouldn’t expect that sort of trouble.”

Basically, it’s a ‘I’ll help you move the body’ sort of response for me, proving to me that there’s very good reason he’s my friend. I half expect my other friends to have the same response, albeit less verbose. 🙂

About lynnindenver

Lynn is the identity of a tgirl residing in Denver, Colorado, standing member of the local chapter of Tri-Ess, and general social gurl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.