What a Nice Little Night Out

It’s really nice when someone cuts through all the negative that society heaps on us, much of it unspoken.

I went out Saturday to a club, after the meeting of my Tri-Ess chapter, since I’d had a dry spell of being Lynn. Unlike before, since I have a friend who was interested in Tracks, that knows about my ‘double’ life, I asked her if she wanted to come along.

So, we made an evening of it. I had her drive, since she doesn’t drink at all these days, buying her sodas for her, as is the tradition when one has a designated driver.

In exchange, I got the profound joy of being around someone who not only isn’t judgemental, but has some understanding, and enjoyment that she was seeing me enjoy myself. Apparently, I had one of those unwipeable smiles on my face the whole evening, and it was the most fun that she could recall me having. Normally, when I go to clubs with live music, in boy mode, I sit with my friends, and it would literally take an event of cosmic signifigance to get me out onto the dance floor. Here, as Lynn, with canned music from a DJ, I was out and dancing without prompting, and it’s not the first time.

Of course, having now seen this, she’s challenged me to start going to local music shows as Lynn by the end of the year. Quite the pushing of boundaries, that, but I do suspect she has a point to that.

But overall? It’s nice that I have friends that I can share this with, that don’t judge me, and in many ways, encourage me to explore this side of myself.

About lynnindenver

Lynn is the identity of a tgirl residing in Denver, Colorado, standing member of the local chapter of Tri-Ess, and general social gurl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.